top of page

Using Bloom's Taxonomy in the Literature Classroom

  • 10Days
  • 9Steps
Everyone who has completed all steps in the program will get a badge.


Bloom’s Taxonomy was created by Benjamin Bloom in 1956, published as a kind of classification of the hierarchy of learning outcomes and objectives; it is a hierarchical ordering of the cognitive skills that can help in the development of critical THINKING. The original sequence of cognitive skills was 1) Knowledge, 2) Comprehension, 3) Application, 4) Analysis, 5)Synthesis, and 6) Evaluation. The framework was revised in 2001 by Lorin Anderson and David Krathwohl, yielding the revised Bloom’s Taxonomy. The most significant change to the Cognitive Domain was the removal of ‘Synthesis’ and the addition of ‘Creation’ as the highest-level of Bloom’s Taxonomy. And being at the highest level, the implication is that it’s the most complex or demanding cognitive skill–or at least represents a kind of pinnacle for cognitive tasks. As an hierarchical framework for for cognition and learning objectives, Bloom’s Taxonomy can be thought of in the form of a pyramid. When we use Bloom’s Taxonomy in the classroom, Its objective is to help the learner rise in their level of critical thinking by creating goals for the attainment of specific skills with every assignment.

You can also join this program via the mobile app. Go to the app



Pay as You Go, $150.00/month


bottom of page